New Year’s Reflections

Although in some ways it’s been a difficult few months, today I remind myself that I’m further than I ever have been toward my dream: making a living at writing fiction.  I’ve made huge leaps in terms of writing this past year.

This is what I’m thankful for, in 2010:

1. Going to Odyssey.  I applied and was wait-listed the year before. This year I got in, and I went.  It was a life-changing experience, I got helpful feedback, and I probably nipped ten years off my development.

2. For the first time, I received interest from agents and got numerous requests to see more from my query letters.  And I got glowing feedback from an assistant who read my first fifty pages (Although they weren’t looking for “a through and through fantasy genre tale”).  I hope the outstanding requests go somewhere.

3.  I may graduate from college sooner than I expected.

So, although it’s been tough in many ways, 2010 has been a good year for my writing.  I’m closer than I’ve ever been.

So when I hear gloomy news about the publishing industry, I keep in mind that even in 2000 B.C., and that in the most rural parts of the world today, there are storytellers.  “Story” is something necessary to the human soul and the need for it will never go away.  So even if publishing is changing, whether via e-books or via a bestseller-only business model, people will still need “Story” because it is among the most vital things to humankind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

