New Year’s Resolution

Enough about New Year’s Reflections.  What’s important is a New Year’s Resolution.

My goal is to write 500 words a day (whether for a short story or a novel) for five days a week, submit the stories/novels that I write to pro markets, and learn to write better from every detailed rejection I get.  I’m a fast writer, so it’s definitely a doable goal.  2,500 words a week = 130,000 words a year, which is about 2 short (60,000-word novels) and a few short stories.   Or alternatively, one short novel and a whole load of short stories.

Dean Wesley Smith said he has made $100 a month from e-publishing short stories and that his revenue is growing.  So my plan is, if a short story is rejected by all 5c/word markets, and I am still proud of it by that time (which doesn’t always happen), I will put it up as a Nook/Kindle e-book for purchase here, and likely for a pittance.  No more than $2.

If I can hold to this goal (and I think I can) I will feel very productive indeed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolution

  1. eileen says:

    hey! I hadn’t realized you had a blog up here–but now that I have I’ve linked you up to Speak Coffee to Me. 🙂 Hope to see you keep posting writing and reading related content!

  2. andrewjcooper says:

    Cool! Awesome. You’re linked too.

Leave a Reply

